9 Aug

Marshall Wins While Marshals Wait

Bearbrook 10k start

Southampton University student Matthieu Marshall was a convincing winner of the 17th annual Bearbrook 10K from Aylesbury Rugby Club, Weston Turville on Sunday (6 August). Modestly billed as 'Aylesbury's greatest road race', the event closed at a capacity 500 and the last person to sign up was also a category winner.

Matthieu Marshall (Southampton AC, 32:36) finished almost a minute clear of his erstwhile clubmate Jonathan Holmans (Oxford City AC, 33:35). Third place went to Vale of Aylesbury AC runner Alex Walker (33:45) to the acclaim of the partisan local spectators. 
The leading masters on a fine day that was conducive to fast times were M40 Karl Spielmann (Marlow Striders, 33:53), M50 Peter Summers (Handy Cross Runners, 37:20) and M60 Robin Tremaine (Trent Park Trotters, 41.54). 
Mairead O’Rourke (Chiltern Harriers, 39:32) dominated the women's race from Samantha Fawcett (Dacorum and Tring AC, 40:14) and Karla Borland (Southampton AC, 40:16). Top age group results were set by W35 Claire Kremer (40:27), W45 Wendy Walsh (St Albans Striders, 43:04) and W55 Lynda Hembury (Tring AC, 42:51). Claire Kremer was the final entrant to be accepted.
There were 441 finishers in 1:34:11 and Helen Hinde (W45 Windsor, 49:38) marked halfway as half the field raced through inside 50 minutes. 
St Albans Striders' contingent of over 50 entrants served them well as they won both male and female team awards. Bearbrook's club members marshalled the event and will get their opportunity to run the course on Friday (11 August) followed by a fish and chip supper. 
Bearbook Running and Triathlon Club welcomes runners and triathletes of all abilities. For more information visit the club's website.
Full results and race details are available at runABC South race listings.
Image courtesy Bearbrook 10K