27 Oct

Thousands Enjoy Bristol Bath Marathon

Bristol Bath Marathon

Thousands of runners took part in the first ever Bristol + Bath Marathon on Sunday 25 October. Set on their way by four time Ironman World Champion Chrissie Wellington, they covered a challenging course in bright conditions in the West Country.

The men’s race was won in style by Adam Holland from Notfast Running Club, in 2:31:29. Speaking of his victory, he said: “This was my 240th marathon, and the second fastest time I have ever completed the distance, which I’m really pleased with.

“The organisation on the day was fantastic, and I particularly enjoyed the initial sections in Bristol where I had a lot of friends cheering me on! The hilly section at mile 20 was tough, but they worked out to my advantage as I was able to take the lead here, which I wasn’t expecting at all. I will definitely be back again next year!”
Second place went to Elly Tarus from Salford Harriers AC in 2:31:29, and Charles Houston took third in 2:42:04.

The women’s race was won by Clare Prosser from Wells City Harriers in 2:52:50, followed by Elior Phillips from Lliswerry Runners in 2:55:11, and Bethany Skinnard who took third.
The brand new event boasted a completely closed-road route throughout the entire 26.2 mile course, and saw competitors start at 9.00am on Prince Street, Bristol, before making their way through the beautiful and rolling countryside of South Gloucestershire, and on towards the finish line in Royal Victoria Park, Bath.
George Ferguson, mayor of Bristol said: “It was a huge pleasure for Bristol to host the start of the inaugural Bristol + Bath Marathon and my heartfelt congratulations go out to all those who took part. Having worked closely with the race organisers to bring the run to the region, I was particularly pleased to see the event become a reality and see so many turn out to support to what I hope becomes the first of many, possibly running West to East next time!”
If you feel inspired by this year’s run, pre-registration is now open for next year’s race at the event website.