19 Dec

Championship Dates Set

Mizuno Half Marathon

British Athletics has announced the list of races that will make up the runbritain Grand Prix series and the British and English road racing championships in 2014. Ten different races will make up the three series, taking place across the full calendar year.

Following on from 2013, the runbritain Grand Prix will see each athlete's best four races of the six race series count, with £60,000 in individual and team prize money available to British athletes across the series.

As was the case last year, the 2014 runbritain series kicks off at the Mizuno Reading Half Marathon, which takes place on Sunday 2 March, and will be followed by the Bristol 10K on 11 May. The Bupa London 10,000 is held two weeks later; the race where Mo Farah ran the quickest 10k time by a Briton in 2013.

The series will then head to the track for the inaugural British Milers Club Festival of 10,000m at Stretford on Saturday 6 September before finishing off with series regulars, the Cardiff Half Marathon and the Age UK Leeds Abbey Dash, on 5 October and 16 November respectively.

The British Championships encompasses an unprecedented number of distances, ranging from the Bupa Westminister Mile on Sunday 25 May and the Virgin Money London Marathon on Sunday 13 April. Further championships will be held at the Cardiff Half Marathon and the Bupa London 10,000, whilst the Virgin Money Giving Mini Marathon will showcases the age groups championships.

The English Championships are also highlighted by the Virgin Money London Marathon with further championships over 10k (Leeds Abbey Dash), 10 miles (Bupa Great South Run) and half marathon (Reading) taking place throughout the year.