10 Oct

Prior Warning At Ashford 10K

Ashford 10k medals

Three men in the 33-minute bracket and three women under 40 minutes were the highlights from the 31st Givaudan Ashford 10K on Sunday (8 October) incorporating the Kent county championships.

The triangular shaped course from Julie Rose Athletics Stadium is slightly undulating but traffic free and potentially fast as it takes the runners through Little Burton and Kennington, past Ashford Rugby Club, Ashford International Station and through Willesborough, before a grandstand finish on the track in the stadium.
The first Julie Rose Memorial 10K in 1986 was started by Steve Cram and received a record 2,000 entries but this year 1,250 signed up to make this the biggest race for 30 years. Many more youngsters were involved in the pre-event Children’s Fun Run and the Sportshall type athletics taking place in front of the main stand.
Winner of the race and Kent gold was Lloyd Worsley (Folkestone RC, 33:03) but the biggest cheer was reserved for 16-year-old Oliver Prior (Ashford AC, 33:07), who set the second fastest UK under-17 time of the year and smashed the host club's 10k record to announce his arrival. Rhys Goddard (33:40) led Canterbury Harriers to gold in the Kent team event.
The race also featured the Kent masters' championships and age-group winners were M40 Simon Jones (Canterbury Harriers, 34:09), M50 Noel Lyons (Medway Tri, 36:20), M60 Alan Newman (Tonbridge, 42:57) and M70 Martyn Rouse (Veterans AC, 48:32).
The three sub-40 women were Hazel Behagg (W40 Dartford Road Runners, 38:03), Renata McDonnell (W40 Deal Tri, 39:25) and Jennifer Benson (W35 Canterbury Harriers, 39:28) who were later rewarded with Kent medals in both open and masters categories.
The higher age-group champions were W45 Maria Skinner (Thanet Roadrunners, 41:56), W55 Christine Costiff (Ashford RRC, 46:32) and W65 Sue James (Tonbridge, 52:39).
Full results and details available at runABC South comprehensive race listings