2 Aug

Who Can Topple Torbay At Totnes?

Plymouth Harriers at Totnes 10kTorbay AC men have retained the Totnes 10K team trophy for a remarkable eight consecutive years. The challenge to topple them and last year’s ladies winners, Plymouth Harriers, is on Sunday (7 August) when up to 600 runners will toe the start line at Totnes Pavilion in Borough Park.

The race was started by local Totnes resident, Sean Dooner, around 20 years ago but became so popular it needed the expertise of Teignbridge Trotters, who took over the organisation in 2000. Race director, Roger Hayes, steps down after 17 years in charge after this year’s event.

The individual trophy holders, who were both first-timers at the race, are Exmouth Harriers’ Berihu Hadera (35:06) and Naomi Flanagan (42:11) of Torbay. The generous prize list includes course record bonus payments of £50 and the holders are Tom Merson (Exmouth Harriers, 33:55) in 2014 and Jo Kelsey (Tavistock, 39:39) in 2000.

There are also £25 incentives for age-group records and last year these were paid to M35 James Baker (Chichester, 35:16), M50 Pete Monaghan (Torbay, 37:44) and W50 Cathy Newman (Exmouth Harriers, 42:49). The fact that 90% of the course is on trails through the fabulous Dartington Estate and alongside the River Dart makes these performances all the more impressive.

Post race attractions include a play area, swimming pool, bouncy castle and bouncy assault course plus homemade cakes, a BBQ and beer tent selling the infamous Dartmoor Brewery Jail Ale.

Full details at the race website.