10 Jan

Waddies Roar To Grand Prix Success

Wadhurst Runners celebrate after the Crowborough 10K

Wadhurst Runners staged an eleventh hour fight back to retain the prestigious Sussex Grand Prix championship for 2013. The competition saw over 1000 runners taking part over the course of the 12 months and involved all of the county's top clubs.

Prior to the final leg of the Grand Prix, the Crowborough 10K, Horsham Joggers led the men's contest ahead of Wadhurst Runners. Wadhurst's men had held the advantage for much of the season but Haywards Heath Harriers and Horsham took advantage of events in the west of Sussex to mount sustained challenges in the final rounds of the year-long series.

The 19th, and penultimate, round at Brighton 10K saw big contingents from Horsham Joggers and Wadhurst Runners gather valuable points and set-up a dramatic last round finale.

The Sussex Grand Prix title is awarded after both men and women's points are tallied. Wadhurst Runners finished first overall with Horsham Joggers second and Haywards Heath third.

Albert Kemp, secretary of the Sussex Grand Prix and chairman of Wadhurst Runners, said: "I must stress the positions are provisional but the SGP Results Co-ordinator is confident that as in past years the declared results should only show minor changes, if any, which should not directly affect the results.

"If the Waddies do win again it will be such an amazing experience for a relatively small club. Well done to both second-placed Horsham Joggers and third-placed Haywards Heath. And special praise to the ladies of Heathfield Road Runners, who secured a top three finish for the first time and to Arunners AC of Littlehampton who, in their first season, had figured early in the medal positions but faded towards the end when the bigger clubs geared-up to overhaul them."


  1. Albert Kemp said...

    The Sussex Grand Prix is a competitive series of 20 races over a period from February to November/December each year. It is run in a friendly manner and 23 clubs currently contest the series. Any affiliated club in East or West Sussex is eligible for election to the series, if they are a member of the Sussex Athletics Association..